Eating Around the World in London


lunch

You read articles about it all the time; London is one of the most diverse cities in the world. More than a third of Londoners were not born in the UK – that’s around 2.5 million people, more than a third of London’s population that isn’t from the UK. In other words, there are more than 270 nationalities who speak over 300 languages here in London.

London’s restaurant scene is just as diverse. Within a 500 metre radius of my house, I can eat Argentinian, Indian, and  Lebanese. Further down the road there’s a Thai, a Mexican and an Italian restaurant. Which got me thinking; Would all those 270 nationalities have a culinary presence in the capital? Can Londoners eat around the world without having to leave London?

Well, let’s find out shall we? I want to see if it is possible and see how far I will get. I’m not going to set a time limit, nor will I dwell on ethnic food I can’t find. If it ain’t there I will go on to the next country following a logical route around the globe.

First stop: The UK.

 

 

Leave a comment